Toppers Car Club

Starting in the early 1950’s My grandfather and a group of his buddies started a local car club called the Toppers. They started in Alameda, California, but then after being hassled by local authorities, they decided to make another chapter in Oakland. Members of the Toppers raced at local drag strips and held get together’s through out the years. My grand father had 2 cars he brought to club meets and drag races; His 1927 Chevrolet 4 Door Sedan (stock) which he enjoyed driving around town, cruising the strip in, and to local meets with. He also had a 1955 Chrysler New Yorker which he drag raced and had set a record for local stock car racers. He has the trophies to prove it. My great grand father at the time owned a Signal gas station in Oakland. A local pin striper named “Tommy the Greek” had started working at “pop’s” gas station. In his later years Tommy would become one of the pioneers of striping and be compared to Von Dutch, and Ed “Big Daddy” Roth. So to say that hot rodding is in my blood is an under statement. I work at a restoration shop after school, and when I am out for summer vacation, I work there full time. My plan is to one day start my own business building old school custom cars with a modern flair. I could name it “Kustoms From Skrach” And also do insurance work on older vehicles as most body shops won’t touch old cars. My grand father sold his 1955 Chrysler in the 60’s, but we still have his 1927 Chevrolet. We inherited my great grand fathers 1955 Chrysler New Yorker deluxe, which is being made into a modern kustom. Well I will be writing more later on vintage clothing. As they say on the show “my classic car” – “don’t crush’em, Restore’em”

“Papa’s” (My Grand Father) 1927 Chevrolet 4 door sedan.

“pop’s” (My Great Grandfather) 1955 Chrysler New Yorker

More to come. Thanks for reading. Please Comment

-Skrach

Published in: on November 19, 2009 at 8:28 PM  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://vividlyvintage.wordpress.com/2009/11/19/toppers-car-club/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

