Back to the Future

No I am not talking about the movie. Although it is an awesome series of movies. Today in this post we are taking a step back into the future, or what the 1950’s proposed the future would bring. In this video you are looking into the future in the Monsanto House kitchen which was located in Disneyland in Anaheim California. I have always loved stories, photos, technology, lifestyles of the golden eras, but I have always been fascinated of what people during those times thought the future would be like. I mean where is everyone’s flying cars???! We were cheated lol.I just want some sharks with laser beams on their fricken heads.. oh wait that wasn’t one of the conceptions. Here is the video of the Kitchen of Tomorrow (1956). Enjoy.

I remember watching classic cartoons both Disney and MGM produced shorts that were all about innovations, the future, new ideas, and all sorts of things that really stimulated my imagination to build all sorts of crazy futuristic things out of my LEGOS and other toys. My hearts in the past, but my head is in the future lol. I can remember when I didn’t even know what a computer was. (I’m only 25. I’m sure some of you are going “I can remember before there was TV”) I mean when I was little I could never even of dreamed in my wildest dream that the average person could have their own column in the biggest virtual news paper (The internet)

I really like retro tech, and I think that this video really can still spark some new ideas for future innovations.

Here is one vintage piece of retro futurism (if that’s a phrase) that actually made it into the future (Now)

Though not made by Whirlpool, but rather iRobot Established in 1990 from a few MIT Grads. The product’s the Roomba:

I really Like thinking of the future. I think that a lot of the futuristic styling for architecture is based on art deco and or retro “1950’s styling”.  I wonder if some young person 50 years from now will say “I really am into the 1990’s” i think that it is likely but in my opinion the 1990’s had lack of flavor but was drenched in individualism. I would love to have a kitchen like this. I plan on modifying my kitchen with computers and tech to make it futuristic. Though I know it wont be as great as “the kitchen of tomorrow” Oh and don’t forget what is yet to come to our future…

Thanks for reading,

Skrach

PS: Here is a look into the future…  Tomorrows blog will include something that may have sparked the Pixar hit movie CARS. (no more details.. I want leave you in suspense Haha)

Published in: on January 22, 2010 at 8:15 PM  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://vividlyvintage.wordpress.com/2010/01/22/back-to-the-future/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

