Happy Mother’s Day

I was born 2 months premature. My mother gave birth to me on our bathroom floor while my dad delivered me. My mom is a very interesting person. She was the bread winner of my family due to my dad getting hurt on the job and unable to hold a job from his back injury. During my childhood, I don’t remember much of her being around, and when she was home, I remember her sleeping. My parents always tried to get me the best of everything; teddy ruxpin, teenage mutant ninja turtles, and legos. She worked very hard in dead end jobs, of which she made minimum money. I have a lot of respect for her working so hard in jobs that were not very easy to do and not alot of pay. She worked at burger joints, bingo halls, and even a few department stores.  She did what she had to do in order to support my dad and I. My mother and I rarely see eye to eye, and we argue like cats and dogs, but at the end of the day I know she is my mom, and that reguardless why we argue or quarell, she gave birth to me and I am alive because of her. I am very envious of what she has done for me through out my life. So when mothers day comes around, I always try to get her gifts that she will appreciate as much as I appreciate her.

My grandmothers, both sides of my families, I also adore. Like my mom they worked so hard for little money. Surviving in california was not easy in the days of old. My dad’s mother, worked in the ship yards in richmond California as a “rosie the riviter” My mothers mom, worked as an operator plugging and pulling phone lines on a switchboard. They all did what they needed to do in order to survive and support their children. In 1965 my grandfather (the WWII vet) who was married to my dads mother, was killed in a motercycle accident which left my grandmother widowed and forced to raise my uncle, aunt, and my dad alone.

This day is a special day for all women who have had children. It celibrates the harsh life sacrifises ladies have had to make in order to take care of their children one way or another. So if you haven’t already you should thank your mother, grandmother, aunts, sisters etc for everything that they have done for you and all the other children in your family. Just because it is mothers day today, doesn’t mean that you have to stop your thanks after today. You can let them know how you feel any and or everyday. I send a very special thanks to all of the mothers in the world. Thank you for everything you do. Including the things you do that we do not know about. 🙂

Thanks for reading,

Published in: on May 9, 2010 at 6:38 PM  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://vividlyvintage.wordpress.com/2010/05/09/happy-mothers-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

