A dream that will never fade

If you are a regular visitor to my blog, you will know that I absolutly LOVE Disneyland. I love the history, nostalgia, technology, and the way that all of your worries and troubles disappear once you step foot onto Main Street. If you have been living under a rock for the last 60 decades, Disneyland was designed from a dream of cartoonist, and movie producer/maker Walter Elias Disney. Walt Disney had this dream of creating an amusement park that both children and adults could enjoy. He had so many ideas that he used to make you feel certain ways through out the park. For example Walt once said “I don’t want the public to see the world they live in while they’re in the Park (Disneyland). I want to feel they’re in another world.”.  He captured and perfected that effect , by visually over stimulating your eyes with so many visual details that it is impossible to take it all in.  By over stimulating your brain with all these details it forces out whatever is on your mind.

My first time that I visited the park was in 1998. Since my first visit I have been hooked. I have read books, got involved in websites and forums, raid ebay on rare odd Disneyland items, and find dvd’s and home movies from either film footage from the Disney company or personal family films. I browse youtube and oftern find a bunch of neat videos of rare footage such as walkthroughs to emergency exits due to a ride breaking down and  little secrets (like areas that people don’t know exist.)

Today I have a few videos and photos that I ran across through out my search of nostalgic Disneyland and or rare footage of the park.

So without any further adieu lets start with some photos. All of these photos belong to a blog that I follow called Gorrilas Don’t Blog

These are photos of Disneyland in its younger years somewhere near its opening year 1955.

Now for the videos. All videos can be found on theeditor84’s Youtube site

This is archival footage of the park’s birth. Using time-lapse and traditional eye-in-the-sky photography, this is a dazzling piece of history, presenting how the fearless construction crews had Disneyland up and running in just under a year. Again: just under a year. commentary by Tony Baxter, Ed Hobleman, and Walter Magnuson, who discuss the frantic construction of the park. Courtesy of Walt’s persnickety insistence to document everything.

____________________________________________

____________________________________________

____________________________________________

____________________________________________

____________________________________________

Walt was a very imaginative man. His mind was always working.  He constantly thought about how he could do things better even when things were at their best. Unfortunately Walt was a chain smoker and as a result of that he died of lung cancer. Although since his death, over 4 decades later his dream is still putting smiles on children’s faces, and putting adults instantly back into their childhood. My dream job would be to be the care taker of Disneyland, to help preserve Walt’s dream and visions. I am planning to go to Devry University for engineering classes, and for my senior project (graduation year end project) I plan to make it something that Disneyland could use or add to the park. Walt made an apartment above the fire station on Main Street. When he was in the park he would turn on the lamp that is located in the center window on the second floor of the fire house. when the lamp was seen on, everyone new that “the boss” was in. Since his death they leave the lamp on to pay tribute to the man responcible for the creation of Disneyland. Everytime I visit Disneyland, I always walk by the fire house on the way in and say “good morning Walt” and on the way out at closing, I always say “Good night Walt”. Why do I call him Walt instead of “Mr.Disney”? Walt never liked being called Mr. Disney. This is why all name tags on all cast members say their first name and not their last name. Disneyland is my place of serenity. I wish I was there now..

Thanks for reading,

____________________________________________

Published in: on May 18, 2010 at 4:42 PM  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,