Summer time is as nostalgic as Apple Pie

We have reached our 100th post! Thanks to my very dedicated readers I have made it to my 100th post. It is you the readers that give me the motivation to find innovative ways to write about all things retro and vintage. I hope you have enjoyed reading my blog as much as I have had writing it. Thank you so much for allowing me to express my fond interest in all things retro. I hope that by my 200th post I will have merchandise to give to visitors thanking them for their loyalty and support. Any ideas on what I should offer as prizes? Tshirts? calendars? Give me some ideas.. Thank you for allowing me to reach my 100th post. 🙂

So I have been busy with summer and getting things back on track at the shop. I have been monitoring message boards, creating banners and trying to promote the business in every way I can think of.  The best part about this summer is that my mind is clear. This year at school really took a toll on me.

Summer time for me makes me think of all the times I went camping, on road trips, hanging out with friends, and having barbeques. I absolutely love road trips and when I think of road trips, I think of Route 66 and the wonderful road trips that the great route made possible. On and along the route 66 road there are so many great roadside attractions and sights. If you have not seen the movie “CARS” from Pixar you MUST watch it. The main concept of the movie is about a little town that route 66 used to run through and live off of. Route 66 was a scenic two lane highway that eventually was replaced by straight long multiple lane expressways that instead of complimenting the curvature of the landscape was cut directly through hillsides, and away from the little towns that thrived off of route 66.

U.S. Route 66 (also known as the Will Rogers Highway after the humorist, and colloquially known as the “Main Street of America” or the “Mother Road”) was a highway in the U.S. Highway System. One of the original U.S. highways, Route 66, US Highway 66, was established on November 11, 1926. However, road signs did not go up until the following year. The famous highway originally ran from Chicago, Illinois, through Missouri, Kansas, Oklahoma, Texas, New Mexico, Arizona, and California, before ending at Los Angeles, encompassing a total of 2,448 miles (3,940 km). It was recognized in popular culture by both a hit song (written by Bobby Troup and performed by Depeche Mode, the Nat King Cole Trio and The Rolling Stones, among others) and the Route 66 television show in the 1960s.

Route 66 underwent many improvements and realignments over its lifetime, changing its path and overall length. Many of the realignments gave travelers faster or safer routes, or detoured around city congestion. One realignment moved the western endpoint farther west from downtown Los Angeles to Santa Monica.

Route 66 was a major path of the migrants who went west, especially during the Dust Bowl of the 1930s, and supported the economies of the communities through which the road passed. People doing business along the route became prosperous due to the growing popularity of the highway, and those same people later fought to keep the highway alive even with the growing threat of being bypassed by the new Interstate Highway System.

US 66 was officially removed from the United States Highway System on June 27, 1985 after it was decided the route was no longer relevant and had been replaced by the Interstate Highway System. Portions of the road that passed through Illinois, Missouri, New Mexico, and Arizona have been designated a National Scenic Byway of the name “Historic Route 66“. It has begun to return to maps in this form. Some portions of the road in southern California have been redesignated “State Route 66”, and others bear “Historic Route 66” signs and relevant historic information.

Route 66 has so many really awesome old buildings that are still around and most of them have neon signs. The design of most of the buildings are very detailed and represent a time that was positive and simple. I have been thinking of how we can preserve some of these old building that have become abandoned. This is where the idea struck me.. what about using the buildings and restoring them but put a diffrent business in it. For example:

I was thinking of some of the old motels that are on the side of route 66. The first business that I thought of that would be a great business to place into an old motel would be an assisted living community. A place for elderly citizens that need medical assistance through out the day such as medication giving them medication, assistance in getting in and out of the shower, and even providing meals to their rooms. You can set up each “motel room” as a small apartment that the elderly can live at and give their families peace of mind in knowing that their elderly family members are being cared for but still have some indipendance.

Route 66 was and still is an American icon. If you ever get the chance you should take a drive down the mother road. There are so many cool roadside buildings and neon signs. Such as these:

I bought a set of dvd’s that showcase route 66. They have been saying that it is getting popular again to go on road trips. The parents of today are remembering when their parents took them on route 66 road trips and want to share the same thing with their kids. So road trips are getting popular again. Plan a trip of your own. Happy motoring!

Thanks for reading,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://vividlyvintage.wordpress.com/2010/06/15/summer-time-is-as-nostalgic-as-apple-pie/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

