One year older and another trip to Disneyland

So I have offically turned one year older. I am now 26. I was born on November 27, 1984.  I was born 2 months premature. I grew up in a small town called Oroville which is located in Northern California. It was a small town that was born during the gold rush. I grew up with my aunts and uncles all over the age of 50. I didn’t have many kids my age that lived near by. So I believe that the reason why I love everything old, vintage, and retro is because I grew up with people who lived during those times, listened to music that was from those eras. Also one thing that I forgot to mention was that on November 17th marked the one year anniversary of Vividly Vintage. It wasnt until February 12th that I had purchased the http://www.VividlyVintage.com domain. But I officially started the blog on November 17, 2009.

 

On friday the 26th of November I took my parents out to the House of Prime Rib in San Francisco. It is the best place to get prime rib. It literally melts in your mouth. My mom always has a complaint whenever we go to dinner, but oddly enough, she had zero complaints. It was a nice dinner.

I also was planning to go to Disneyland on the Sunday following my birthday. I went with Jeff, my co-worker /close friend, his grandson, and my Girlfriend. We left early Sunday morning at 2 AM. We arrived in Anaheim just about 8AM. We went to Disneyland that morning and used my route that I always use while navigating through the park and it works well like it usually does. Jeff even mentioned  that we rode more rides that day than he has ever ridden in one day. We stayed in the park until 12am that day and then went home to catch up on some sleep until the next morning of which we would visit the Disney California Adventure park.  Jeff was meeting his daughter, son in law, and twin grand daughters. So Michelle and I decided to let them have their family time and we went and did our own thing. We had a blast. Even though the park closed early that day we made it to everything that we wanted to see including the World of Color show. It was great. I had visited both Disneyland and CA Adventure just last July 17 (55th anniversary of opening day) and the World of Color show had changed just in that short amount of time. It was a great. They even added a little bit of their newest movie TRON.

We left Anaheim on Tuesday. We had a blast. I love the nostalgia that makes Disneyland so magical. When I walk into Disneyland I feel at home. Whenever I leave, I feel like I am moving away from home. There is an old lamp that is lit at night in the window above the old fire house (Walt Disney’s apartment) that when Walt was in the park he would have the light on to let people know he was in the park. Since his death in 1966 to pay tribute to his presence in the park, they leave the light on as to let everyone know that Walt is still very much alive in the park. So every time I leave the park at night I always look up at the lamp and say good night to Walt. It always brings tears to my eyes when I do that. I know its a little weird but I just get an overwhelming feeling that I get when I do that. It is really amazing that one man could have made such an impact on so many generations. He is most likely the most influential people in history that have touch the largest amount of people through out the generations both during his life and after his death.

 

I got for my birthday 3 photos. 2 of Walt Disney, and one of the Rat pack from the movie Oceans Eleven.

 

I had a blast both on my birthday and also in Disneyland. It was one of the best birthdays I have had in a while. I plan to do something special next year. Maybe go on a cruise or maybe a trip to Hawaii. Don’t forget that tomorrow is Pearl Harbor day. I will have a post about Pearl Harbor tomorrow. Check back tomorrow if you interested in reading it.

 

Thanks for reading,

https://i1.wp.com/www.themustangguys.com/sig.jpg

Published in: on December 6, 2010 at 7:47 PM  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://vividlyvintage.wordpress.com/2010/12/06/one-year-older-and-another-trip-to-disneyland/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. DJ , so nice to hear about your birthday and trip to Disneyland. It was like I got to talk to you in person. Give everyone my love and have a great Christmas. Your Dad showed me the photos he gave you. They are fantastic. I know it really ment alot for your Dad to find them for you and get to give them to you for your Birthday. Love Ya….


Leave a Reply

