We have hit the 150th post!

Today we have reached a milestone. Today’s post is officially the 150th entry that I have posted on Vividly Vintage. A lot has happened since I started this blog. I did not think that it would be this popular. I originally started this blog just to share my thoughts about all things retro and nostalgic. I have met so many great people who have visited my blog. I love the comments and feedback that I receive. And a special thank you to all of my subscribers.  Lets take a look back on the top 10 most popular articles made popular by you, the viewers.

1. To all who currently serve and or have served our country, this is for you. (click here to view this article)

In this article I just decided to write a thank you to all veterans world wide. It was chosen as the top freshly pressed on wordpress.com which ended up giving me huge amount of traffic that day. A total of 2196 visitors came to Vividly Vintage on November 11, 2010 with a total of 56 comments. It was fun watching the traffic stats rise so far from my normal amount of visitors. Thank you for all who came to my site that day, as it was special to me because it memorialized my family members (Both my grand fathers and my Uncle Larry). It was the memorial that they should of had when they were alive, although it was still great to see them memorialized in this way.

2. Norconian Resort Supreme, California’s most beautiful unused resort (Click here to read this article)

The article on the Norconian Resort Supreme was an instant hit with the viewers and it even allowed former employees of the resort that were at there when it was used as a military facility to get in touch with each other in the comments. It made me feel good as I was bringing old friends together again; one of the things that was unexpected that the blog provided for both myself and the readers.

3. Hat Works By Paul (Click here to read this article)

pauls_hats51

“In a time where traditions have disintegrated, where people avoid eye contact on the streets and where heads remain barren and cold, four women have set out on an adventure to revive tradition, to unify the people, and to “Bring the Hat Back.”

Hat works by Paul is a local business that makes hats in the old style and sells them. When I wrote about them, I had not started my “Retro Retailers List” at that time. Although it was articles like this that led me to the idea of the retro retailer concept. Which after I started my list, readers flocked in by the hundreds which inspired me to dedicate one whole week to just retro retailers.

4. Playland at the beach (Click here to read this article)

I have always been fascinated with Playland. I can and listen to stories of visits to playland all day that my Grand Father tells. I got so many comments on this article that are from people that have happy memories of the beach side park. It was especially nice to read a comment that was written by a lady named Gail, she wrote:

“Met up with some girl friends that I have known since I was in 2nd grade; I am now 61. Thought we’d all get together to cheer up one of us that was just diagnosed with cancer, and the Playland at the Beach was in our topic of conversation. We all grew up in South San Francisco, not too far from Playland, and spent a few birthday parties at the Fun House. We all sat around and laughed today about our experiences; the ride that really brings laughter to me was the record! Thanks for putting this on the net.”

Her comment was so touching it brought tears to my eyes. I really never thought an article that I would write would bring so much joy to one person. Just made me feel great. Made me thankful that I started this blog. If it can bring one person joy, it is worth it to me.

5. Rosie the Riveter (Click here to read this article)

My grandmother worked in the factories in Oakland helping build planes. I never got the chance to talk to her about it unfortunately. When I wrote this article I had found photos that were from the Library of Congress. Color photos of the factory workers during WWII. These photos are amazing.

6. “Aluminum Overcast” B-17G WWII Veteran (Click here to read this article)

Jeff and I had the chance to visit and tour a B17 named “Aluminum Overcast” It was so amazing to see. When we boarded the plane, we were instantly brought back into time. You could hear big band music being played in the cockpit, it was like I was back in 1942. This giant of a plane, looks so amazing when it is in the air. It makes you wonder how something that big can stay in the air.If you ever get the chance to view this great plane, you should for sure tour it. When we were aboard, we got to talk to the pilot, get into the nose, and see how cramped that it was for those brave souls that flew over the clouds during WWII.

7. Retro Retailer #2 (Click here to read this article)

Even though this is the second retro retailer, it became popular for some reason. I believe because of some of the retro items that I highlighted and showcased. Either way this was the first Retro Retailer article that became popular and it also was the one that inspired me to continue with more. Finding these retailers is not the easiest thing in the world though.

8. Bonnie and Clyde (Click here to read this article)

I originally wrote this article because I wanted to showcase and share the location of the Bonnie and Clyde Car. Which turned into a history lesson on who the couple was and how they became a part of history. For some reason, it is one of the most searched topics on my website. I am not sure why but it is. It is for sure an interesting part of history.

9. Tear Drop Trailers Rise in Popularity (Click here to read this article)

I wrote this article to learn more about the tear drop trailers and how to build one. I want to build one to go with my 55 Chrysler. I found so many different styles and vintages. They were so popular in the 30’s thru the early 60’s then it went somewhat silent. I noticed after writing this article that there is a rise in popularity. There are companies that are popping up that are making new versions of the old style tear drops. As well as there are clubs that are growing in size in camping out in these tear drops. Sounds like fun.

10. 1951 L.A. Architectual masterpiece “Shusett House” planned to be demolished (Click here to read this article)

It was a sad day for architecture enthusiasts of the modern style. This wonderful example of 1950’s Hollywood Style luxury was unfortunately torn down because “the owner decided the house did not suit his needs” It has since been completely removed. Sad.. it was a beautiful house and an awesome example of 1950’s architecture.

____________________________________

So that concludes the top ten articles from the 150 that I have posted. Thank you all so much for visiting my website, commenting, and subscribing to the site. It is not easy to find material to write about but with readers like you, it makes it fun to find things to write about. I hope to make it to the next mile marker with even more interesting, intriguing, and captivating articles. I have a FLIP video camera and I have yet to use it. So that is one thing that is in the near future for future articles. Thank you so much for your loyalty as readers. If there is anything that you wish to share with me that you feel that I think I can write about, please email me at skrach@vividlyvintage.com

Thanks for reading,

https://i1.wp.com/www.themustangguys.com/sig.jpg

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://vividlyvintage.wordpress.com/2011/02/01/we-have-hit-the-150th-post/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

